MENU

Skiing & cross-country skiingWINTER FUN

In the middle of the snow-covered landscape of the Pitztal, your winter dream will come true! With the Pitz Regio Card, you have access to unlimited winter sports enjoyment and
you have access to the 4 popular ski areas: Hochzeiger,
Pitztal glacier, Rifflsee lift, and Imst lifts.

Ski-in & ski-out

With its location directly on the slopes, Hotel Alpenroyal offers more skiing fun with ski-in ski-out and a large ski storage room! Without annoying travel to the ski area and tediously lugging around your equipment, you can head out to the slopes straight from the delicious breakfast buffet! After a comfortable gondola ride, awaiting you is the multifaceted Hochzeiger ski area with 40 km of the best prepared slopes and long, sunny ski runs on the southwest slopes above Jerzens. No more waiting at the lift ticket offices - head out into pure skiing enjoyment as quickly as possible. Take advantage of this and get your ski pass right at our reception desk.

Hochzeiger family ski area

With its location directly on the slopes, Hotel Alpenroyal offers more skiing fun with ski-in ski-out and a large ski storage room! Without annoying travel to the ski area and tediously lugging around your equipment, you can head out to the slopes straight from the delicious breakfast buffet. After a comfortable gondola ride, awaiting you is the multifaceted Hochzeiger ski area with 40 km of the best prepared slopes and long, sunny ski runs on the southwest slopes above Jerzens.

Guaranteed snow
Throughout the entire winter, snow is guaranteed on our local mountain, because 90% of the slopes are above an elevation of 2,000 m. In the home ski area of Benni Raich, skiing pros as well as families and beginners can experience magical moments! On the Zirbenfall ski run and the Benni Raich ski run, experienced skiers and snowboarders will work up a sweat. In the snow park above the mid station, freestylers will grow wings. Families can look forward to not only affordable ski passes but also blue slopes and the rules trail, where the mascot Pitzi will explain slopes rules in a child-friendly manner.

Hochzeiger ski area

Pitztal Glacier

Thanks to the guaranteed snow on the "eternal ice", the breathtaking Pitztal Glacier & Rifflsee ski area offers ski runs in all difficulty levels from September to May. In Austria's highest ski area, the Wildspitz lift will take you high above Tyrol to the peak of winter sports enjoyment. Experience unlimited freedom in the Alps at an elevation of 3,440 m and carve down 39 km of the best prepared ski slopes.

On the suspended terrace of "Café 3.440", you can feel the power of the majestic glacier, and you can let your soul soar in Austria's highest coffee house. Free ski buses will transport you from the Alpenroyal to the Rifflsee lift in Mandarfen and to the Gletscherexpress in Mittelberg.

Pitztal Glacier

Ice climbing

Every year, the rushing waterfalls in the Pitztal freeze and transform into a spectacular climbing paradise of snow and ice with their bizarre ice formations. 45 unbelievable ice routes in the Pitztal alone provide climbing fun with a pickaxe and crampons. On curtains of frozen water, you can carve your own path into the vertical realm and experience the forces of nature up-close.

Beginner
In the cold season, the picturesque Kitzgarten gorge transforms into a magical ice world with more than 15 ice climbing routes and offers a true climbing paradise for beginners and those returning to the sport. The idyllic Taschach gorge is also recommended for beginners and can be climbed with a professional mountain guide upon request.

Ice-cold challenges
In the impressive Ice Arena on the Pitztal Glacier, the frozen water can be climbed almost year-round. On 6 icefalls, you have the opportunity to test your limits and put your creativity with a pickaxe and crampons to the test. "Hexenbesen", "Havanna", and other spectacular routes in the Pitztal will make the pulse of every ice climber race faster with excitement. With icefalls of up to 190 m, experienced ice climbers can also experience thrills around the Alpenroyal and enjoy climbing to the fullest here in winter. 

Climbing routes

Cross-country skiing

In the Pitztal, 70 km of snow-covered cross-country trails will whisk you away to a glistening winter fairytale world. Whether skating or classic style - movement in the fresh air will make you happy and promote valuable health and vitality! Thanks to the high-altitude location, snow is guaranteed on the trails in the Pitztal. The high-altitude trails are at an elevation of 2,700 m on the Pitztal Glacier and 2,200 m in the Rifflsee ski area, and even the 21.7 km long valley trail leads up to an elevation of 1,700 m. 

It's no wonder that two-time Olympic champion Mario Stecher chose the Pitztal as his training area. From the fishing pond in Jerzens, you can reach the 3.2 km long Fischteichloipe trail. The mid station route and the Sechszeiger route in the Hochzeiger lift area are also only a stone's throw away from Hotel Alpenroyal.

Snowshoe hiking

Step by step, you can make your way over the crunching snow and discover the facets of a romantic winter landscape. In the peace and quiet of the mountains, you will become one with nature on a snowshoe hike in the Pitztal as you enjoy the crystal-clear mountain air. On the "1st Pitztal snowshoe trail", you can leave your tracks behind in the enchanting Taschach gorge. 

Guided snowshoe hikes on the Kaunergrat
Go on a tour of discovery with an expert mountain guide and pass through the most beautiful corners of the peaceful Alpine landscape. The Kaunergrat nature park center is the starting point for picturesque snowshoe hikes. With an introductory course, you can take your first steps with a professional guidance. The advanced course leads over the gentle terrain of the Piller Saddle.

On the "Winter-Gspiar" hike, you can experience the fascination of snow and become one with the pristine winter landscape. With an experienced tracker from the nature park, you will stay "on the trail of winter". Young and old can hike through the snow-covered forest with their snowshoes and learn how to read the tracks and follow the trails of the forest inhabitants. You can bring your family adventure to an end by the cozy, crackling campfire. 

Nature park office

Tobogganing

With tobogganing on the Pitztal natural toboggan runs, you can experience pure winter magic! A true highlight is the 6 km long toboggan run on the Hochzeiger. The gondola will take you from Hotel Alpenroyal up to the mid station at an elevation of 2,000 m. Now, nothing stands in the way of a fun ride with friends and family.

You can dash down the curvy route into the pine forest. Attention all night owls: every Thursday is tobogganing night!

MENU

Skifahren & Langlaufen WINTERSPASS

Inmitten der schneebedeckten Landschaft des Pitztales wird Ihr Wintertraum zur Realität! Mit der Pitz Regio Card öffnen sich die Tore zum uneingeschränkten
Wintersportvergnügen und Sie haben Zutritt zu den vier beliebten Skigebieten Hochzeiger,
Pitztaler Gletscher, Rifflseebahn und Imster Bergbahnen.

Ski-In & Ski-Out

Direkt an der Piste gelegen, erleben Sie im Ski-in Ski-out Hotel Alpenroyal mit großräumigem Skidepot einfach mehr Skigenuss! Ohne lästige Anfahrtswege und mühsames Schleppen geht’s vom köstlichen Frühstücksbuffet ohne Umwege auf die Piste! Nach der bequemen Gondelfahrt erwarten Sie im facettenreichen Skigebiet Hochzeiger 40 bestens präparierte Pistenkilometer mit langen, sonnigen Abfahrten auf den Südwest-Hängen oberhalb von Jerzens. Keine Wartezeiten an den Liftkassen mehr und so schnell wie möglich rein ins Pistenvergnügen. Nützen sie diesen Vorteil und holen Sie sich Ihren gewünschten Skipass direkt an unserer Rezeption ab.

Familienskigebiet Hochzeiger

Direkt an der Piste gelegen, erleben Sie im Ski-in Ski-out Hotel Alpenroyal mit großräumigem Skidepot einfach mehr Skigenuss! Ohne lästige Anfahrtswege und mühsames Schleppen geht’s vom köstlichen Frühstücksbuffet ohne Umwege auf die Piste! Nach der bequemen Gondelfahrt erwarten Sie im facettenreichen Skigebiet Hochzeiger 40 bestens präparierte Pistenkilometer mit langen, sonnigen Abfahrten auf den Südwest-Hängen oberhalb von Jerzens.

Schneesicherheit
Den ganzen Winter über herrscht auf Ihrem Hausberg Schneesicherheit, da sich 90% der Pisten auf über 2.000 Metern Seehöhe befinden. Im Heimatskigebiet von Benni Raich erleben sowohl Skistars als auch Familien, Einsteiger und Genießer magische Momente! Auf der Zirbenfall-Abfahrt und der Benni Raich-Abfahrt kommen auch erfahrene Skifahrer und Snowboarder ins Schwitzen. Im top geshapten Snowpark oberhalb der Mittelstation wachsen den Freestylern Flügel. Familien freuen sich nicht nur über die günstigen Skipasskonditionen, sondern auch über die vielen blauen Pisten und den Pistenregeln-Weg, auf dem Maskottchen Pitzi die Pistenregeln kindgerecht erklärt.

Skigebiet Hochzeiger

Pitztaler Gletscher

Das atemberaubende Skigebiet Pitztaler Gletscher & Rifflsee bietet aufgrund der Schneesicherheit des Ewigen Eises, von September bis Mai, anspruchsvolle Abfahrten aller Schwierigkeitsgrade. Die Wildspitzbahn transportiert Sie in Österreichs höchstgelegenem Skigebiet am Dach Tirols zum Gipfel des Wintersportvergnügens. Erleben Sie die grenzenlose Freiheit der Alpen auf 3.440 Meter über dem Meer und ziehen Sie dabei genussvolle Schwünge über die 39 bestens präparierten Pistenkilometer.

Auf der freischwebenden Terrasse des „Café 3.440“ spüren Sie die Kraft der majestätischen Eisriesen und lassen in Österreichs höchstgelegenem Kaffeehaus die Seele baumeln. Kostenfreie Skibusse transportieren Sie vom Alpenroyal aus bequem zur Rifflseebahn in Mandarfen und zum Gletscherexpress in Mittelberg.

Pitztal Gletscher

Eisklettern

Jedes Jahr erstarren die rauschenden Wasserfälle im Pitztal und verwandeln sich mit ihren bizarren Eisformationen zu einem spektakulären Kletterparadies aus Schnee und Eis. Unglaubliche 45 Eiskletterrouten sorgen alleine im Pitztal für cooles Klettervergnügen mit Pickel und Steigeisen. Auf Vorhängen aus gefrorenem Wasser bahnen Sie sich Ihren Weg in die Vertikale und spüren dabei die Kraft der Naturgewalten hautnah.

Einsteiger
In der kalten Jahreszeit verwandelt sich die malerische Kitzgartenschlucht in eine magische Eiswelt und bietet mit mehr als 15 Eiskletterrouten ein wahres Paradies für Anfänger und Wiedereinsteiger. Auch die idyllische Taschachschlucht ist für Einsteiger empfehlenswert und kann auf Wunsch auch mit einem professionellen Bergführer begangen werden.

Eiskalte Herausforderungen
In der imposanten Eisarena am Pitztaler Gletscher kann fast das ganze Jahr über am gefrorenen Nass geklettert werden. Auf sechs Eisfällen haben Sie die Möglichkeit Ihre eigenen Grenzen auszuloten und Ihre Kreativität mit Pickel und Steigeisen unter Beweis zu stellen. „Hexenbesen“, „Havanna“ und weitere spektakuläre Routen lassen die Herzen der Eiskletterer im Pitztal höher schlagen. Mit Eisfallhöhen bis zu 190 Meter erleben rund um das Alpenroyal auch versierte Eiskletterer prickelnden Nervenkitzel und können das Lebensgefühl Klettern hier im Winter voll und ganz auskosten.

Kletterrouten

Langlaufen

Im Pitztal entführen Sie sagenhafte 70 Kilometer an schneesicheren Langlaufloipen in ein glitzerndes Wintermärchen. Egal ob beim Skating oder im klassischen Stil – die Bewegung an der frischen Luft macht glücklich und Sie fördern dabei Ihre wertvolle Gesundheit und Vitalität! Aufgrund der Höhenlage herrscht auf den Loipen im Pitztal größtenteils Schneesicherheit. Die Höhenloipen am Pitztaler Gletscher verlaufen auf 2.700 Metern, im Skigebiet Rifflsee auf 2.200 Metern und sogar die 21,7 Kilometer lange Talloipe führt bis auf über 1.700 Meter.

Kein Wunder, dass auch Doppelolympiasieger Mario Stecher das Pitztal zu seinem Trainingsgebiet auserkoren hat. Vom Fischteich in Jerzens gelangen Sie auf die 3,2 Kilometer lange Fischteichloipe. Auch die Mittelstation-Route und die Sechszeiger-Route im Gebiet der Hochzeiger Bergbahnen sind nur einen Katzensprung vom Hotel Alpenroyal entfernt.

Schneeschuhwandern

Schritt für Schritt bahnen Sie sich Ihren Weg über das knirschende Weiß und entdecken die Facetten einer romantischen Winterlandschaft, wie im Bilderbuch. In der Stille der Berge werden Sie beim Schneeschuhwandern im Pitztal Eins mit der Natur und genießen die kristallklare Bergluft. Beim 1. Pitztaler Schneeschuhtrail hinterlassen Sie Ihre Spuren in der bezaubernden Taschachschlucht.

Geführte Schneeschuhwanderungen am Kaunergrat
Gehen Sie mit einem geländekundigen Bergwanderführer auf Entdeckungstour und durchschreiten Sie die schönsten Winkel der friedlichen Alpenlandschaft. Das Naturparkhaus Kaunergrat ist Ausgangspunkt für malerische Schneeschuhwanderungen mit Gleichgesinnten. Beim Schnupperkurs machen Sie erste Schritte unter professioneller Anleitung. Der Fortgeschrittenenkurs führt über das sanfte Gelände des Piller Sattels.

Bei der „Winter-Gspiar“ Wanderung spüren Sie die Faszination Schnee und verschmelzen mit der unberührten Winterlandschaft. Mit einem erfahrenen Fährtenleser aus dem Naturpark bleiben Sie „Dem Winter auf der Spur“. Groß und Klein wandern mit ihren Schneeschuhen durch den verschneiten Wald und lernen dabei die Fährten und Spuren der Waldbewohner richtig zu lesen. Am knisternden Lagerfeuer kommt es zum heimeligen Ausklang dieses Familienabenteuers. 

Naturparkbüro

Rodeln

Beim Rodeln auf den Pitztaler Naturrodelbahnen erleben Sie schon beim romantischen Aufstieg puren Winterzauber! Ein wahres Highlight ist die sechs Kilometer lange Rodelbahn am Hochzeiger. Mit der Gondelbahn geht’s vom Hotel Alpenroyal aus hinauf zur Mittelstation auf 2.000 Metern. Jetzt steht einer zünftigen Rodelpartie mit Familie und Freunden nichts mehr im Weg.

Auf glühenden Kufen brausen Sie die kurvenreiche Strecke durch den Zirbenwald hinunter. Nachtschwärmer aufgepasst, jeden Donnerstag Rodelabend!